top of page
Walnut.jpg

Walnut

First Name:                         Walnut 

 

Last Name:                         Wood

 

Full Address:                       ----

 

Email Address:                    ----

 

Phone:                                ----

 

High School Baseball Team:

----

 

 

Cumulative GPA:                  3.64

High School:                       ----

 

Desired College and Major:

 

I will be attending ---- to study Ag Business. After finishing my associate degree, I will be transferring either to Colardo State or Texas Tech to finish my bachelor's degree in Ag Business.

What is your career objective?:

 

After completing my bachelor's degree, I want to work in the ag finance, crop science, or crop insurance industries while helping my dad on our family farm. Eventually when my dad is ready to retire, I want to take over running our family farm and cattle operations. I feel that working the industry first will help me acquire more skills that will help me run our farm more successfully.

Community Service Activities:

 

Highway Clean-UP-10 hours Melissa Memorial Hospital Foundation Gala Server-5 hours Packed Harvest Bags for Harvest Snack Sacks for local Farmers-5 hours Farm and Garden Show server-5 hours Put Flags on Veteran graves for Memorial Day-12 hours. Served the "EAT BEEF" Cookout to support beef in Northeast Colorado-3 hours. Prepared and served Teacher Appreciation Breakfast-6 hours. Prepared and served Farmer Appreciation Breakfast-8 hours. Served the Veteran's Day breakfast-4 hours. Helped set up and take my steer to the Holyoke FFA Barnyard to tell kids about cattle-12 hours. Purchased Christmas gifts for local families in need and delivered them to them with food boxes-10 hours. Helped younger members and new 4-H members learn skills for showmanship by helping them at clinics-8 hours. Helped clean and set up for the Phillips County Fair-10 hours. Helped clean up flower beds for elderly members of our community. Built a raised flower bed for a community member in need.

 

Baseball Activities:             

 

I've played baseball since I was five years old when I started t-ball. I then went on to play little league and border league and then high school baseball. I have been on the Varsity baseball team at ---- past three years, lettering each year. I have been team captain the past two years. I helped lead our team ---- last year and we are getting ready to make another run this year. I was named CHSAA/Max Preps All State First Team last year. In addition, I coached the youth baseball teams last summer and our little league team was the league champions! I look forward to coaching these teams again this summer.

 

Outside of School Activities:

 

10 year member of Better Beef Makers 4-H Club Vice President all four years in high school and others prior to high school. showed cattle at local, state and national levels 4 year member of ---- FFA Executive Committee Member-Junior Sentinel-Senior 2 year member of ---- FBLA 2 year member of National Honor Society 2-year member of ---- Student Council Freshman Class Vice President Sophomore Class Student Council Rep Junior Class Student Council Rep 4- year member of ---- Varsity Football Team Lettered all four years. Team Captain- Junior and Senior All Conference-Junior & Senior All State 2nd Team Junior All State Honorable Mention Senior 4-year member of ---- Varsity Basketball Team Lettered all four years. Team Captain-Sophomore, Junior & Senior All Conference Honorable Mention Junior All Conference Senior All State Honorable Mention Senior 4-year member of ---- Track & Field Team Lettered all four years. State qualifier all four years. All Conference-Sophomore & Junior State Champion 4 X 400 All State Junior --- Church-19 years --- LITE group-4 years

 

Career Goal in 2 years:     

In two years, I want to graduate from ---- Junior College with my associate degree in Ag Business. I want to be active on campus with some ag clubs to get to know students with the same passion as myself. I also want to participate in many of the intermural teams to continue my love for athletics.

 

Career Goal in 5 Years: 

In five years, I will have graduated with my bachelor's degree in Ag Business and will either be working in fiancé, crop insurance or agronomy along with helping my dad in my spare time on our family farm. I look forward to utilizing my skills I learn in college with my hands on skills that I have learned on the farm the past twelve years!

 

Career Goal in 10 Years:

 

In ten years, I want to be running our family farm. I look forward to helping my dad while working for a company, but ultimately, I want to run our family farm and cattle operations when my dad retires. I have spent my entire life on the farm, so I look forward to continuing my family's legacy!

 

Why this grant?:                 

 

I'm applying for this grant as I want to finance as much as my college education as possible. My dad is a single father of three boys, and I want to lessen his financial burdens by paying for as much of my education as I can. He's done so much for me to get to this point, I want to do this for him and for me!

 

 

 

How will this help YOU!:     

 

This grant would help me become a better student and person! I'm pursuing a college education so that I can continue to learn and be a contributing member of society. I feel that our generation is sometimes look upon as lazy, but I take that challenge seriously and am excited to show how hard I will work to do this on my own!

Return to Scholarship Review and Vote Page

bottom of page